it’s summer…wait a minute

on

Okay, first things first. It has been way too long since I have posted anything and I want to apologize for that. But as you know, youth ministry starts to escalate a bit around summer time and so honestly, it’s just been a bit busy. Between open houses, mission trips, camps and all the other craziness it just seems as if time is fleeting. And let’s be honest, who wants to be indoors these days. Perhaps if I could dictate my blog while running around in a game of tag or sitting around a campfire? But that kind of misses the point. After all, it’s summer. The time to run, frolic, jump, swing, swim, hide, chase, sweat and enjoy all this season has to offer. Which brings me to my rant, I mean point today. I wonder how many of you have seen this commercial:

What is going on? Is this really what childhood is becoming? After seeing this commercial I just felt sad. I for one have now instated a ban on taking any kind of gaming device outside. I remember being young and the door basically being closed on me during summer and then opened again at the end of the day and occasionally for meal times. Getting outside and enjoying all that life has to offer is probably one of the most defining characteristics of being a kid. And yet, for those people who have the privilege of affording luxuries like the 2DS, we are robbing our kids of their childhood. While in some countries kids aren’t even able to play like these kids could because of being forced into slave situations in order to help their families survive. All that being said, I think there is something special about protecting the innocence of childhood. After all, it’s through the innocence and the joy of childhood that we see the possibility for all that is the Kingdom of God.

The writer of Luke put it this way, “But Jesus called the children to him and said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” – Luke 18:16-17″ And yet, I think so many things we do today rob us of the ability to see all that God has in store for us and in store for His Kingdom. I think a big part of that is not being able to enjoy all that is around us. So maybe we need to turn off our phones, tablets, DS’s, computers (give me a few more words first), etc. and start living the life that awaits us right out our respective back doors. And it might look a bit like blowing bubbles, playing in the rain, jumping in mud puddles, collecting rainbows, smelling flowers, stopping along the way, building sandcastles, watching the moon and stars come out, saying hello to everyone, going barefoot, going on adventures, dancing, flying kites, wondering and wandering around, riding bicycles, looking at the sky, staying up late, climbing trees and ultimately enjoying all the good gifts God has given us to remind us of His love for us. So enjoy the summer! It’s rhythm reminds us of a God who continues to make all things new and wonderful.

Leave a comment